At this remembrance park, you will find the Bendigo Chapel. Situated just inside the main entrance on Carpenter street, this picturesque building welcomes all who enter the park.
The Bendigo Chapel was built in 1873 and was designed by George Avery Fletcher who at the time was town clerk, surveyor and cemetery secretary.
Unique in its Gothic Revival style, the chapel is built from Harcourt granite. The building is designed in a distinctive cross shape, with the main entrance facing the east, and side exit doors facing the north and south.
Other unique features include its belle fleche adorned with a golden finial, taking pride of place atop the chapel. Historically the chapel was used as a space to conduct funeral services, with coffins placed on trestles such as those on display inside the chapel. Sunlight filtering through the stained-glass windows provides light to the interior which has no electric lighting.
A Living Heritage grant of $200,000 was awarded in 2017, which allowed for restoration of the roof, bell fleche, interior floor and stormwater drainage system to begin. Works were completed in May 2018.
The conservation works allow the multi-denominational chapel to once again be available for a range of events including weddings, music recitals, receptions, as well as to be used for its original function to again host funeral services.
The chapel featured in Bendigo’s Open House event in 2018 & 2019.