The Board (Trust)

Marg Lewis – Trust Chair

Marg is the new chair of the board as of 1st September 2020. Marg was appointed to the board in July 2018 and has been a member of the Finance Committee.

Natalie Stanway – Deputy Chair

Natalie has over 25 years’ experience in banking and finance which has allowed her to create and foster strong connections within the Greater Bendigo business community.

Mark Gibson JP

Mark has worked in the health and community service sectors, in a variety of roles over the past 30 years. Mark has served as a Director on a variety of Boards and Committees

Marissa Hewitt

Marissa served on her first Board 14 years ago, and to the RPCV Board, she brings her wealth of knowledge in governance, financial management.

Madeleine Laming

Madeleine is an experienced board member with expertise in governance and strategic planning. She has been a member of the Board and Regional Councils

Graeme Robertson

Graeme has been a resident of Bendigo for over 30 years. During that time, he has undertaken a range of roles within the Victorian Education Department

Dr Dean Shirley

Dean was a principal of colleges in Central Victoria, and then a senior officer within the Department of Education & Training supporting regional principals. Before retirement, Dean was the Senior Community Liaison Manager for the Department in North-Western Victoria.

Holding a doctorate in the Sociology of Organisations, Dean has a particular interest in the analysis of organisations, strategic planning and organisational change.

A founding board member of the charity Bendigo FoodShare and Deputy Chair of its board, Dean was also Chair of the board of Bendigo Uniting Care. He is currently Secretary of the Bendigo Central & Axedale Uniting Church.  Dean is a member of the City of Greater Bendigo’s Community Assessment Panel which considers applications for Community Grants.

Dean regards it as a privilege to be associated with RPCV, which serves the community of the present, while memorialising the community of the past.

Victor Hamit

Victor is a commercial lawyer and Principal Director of Wentworth Lawyers Pty Ltd, providing practical commercial advice to NFP’s SME’s and publicly listed companies. Victor is recognised as one of Australia’s most experienced tax advisers to the NFP community clubs movement, having advised clubs from local community clubs to major professional league clubs.

He also advises major peak bodies on taxation issues and submissions to government, Treasury and the Australian Taxation Office. Victor also has extensive experience as a Director and Chair of For Profit and NFP organisations. He is also the author of over 250 articles, presentations and webinars on taxation, governance and NFP organisations.

Mandy Cooper

Mandy is an experienced senior manager with over 30 years’ working in local government, tourism, IT & telecommunications sectors in Bendigo. For the last decade she has worked at the Bendigo and Adelaide Bank as CEO of the Australian Friendly Society which provides the opportunity to work with the funeral industry.

Mandy holds a Bachelor Business (Accounting), is a member of CPA and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mandy joined the Board in late 2020 and brings a wide breadth of management experience in various disciplines, along with over 25 years of engagement and reporting to various not-for-profit, community, listed and regulated Boards. Mandy is also Vice President of the Friendly Society industry association.

With a keen interest in giving back to her community that has been her home for almost 40 years, she has held a number of volunteer roles in various Bendigo organisations and is currently treasurer of the Bendigo Youth Choir and committee member of Women in Figures.

It is important to make the passing of a those you care about as easy as possible for those left behind, and Mandy believes RPCV has a key role to play in assisting this.